General Data

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintEmail


Official Name: Republic of Angola
Land Area: 1,246,700 Km²
Population: 12,799,293 (July 2009 est.)
Capital City: Luanda (with around 3 million population)
Language: Portuguese
National Holiday: Independence Day, 11 November (1975, from Portugal)
Legal System: Based on Portuguese Civil Law System and Customary Law
Main Cities: Luanda, Huambo, Lobito, Benguela, Lubango, Malange, Cabinda and Soyo
Provinces: 18: Cabinda, Zaire, Uige, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malange, Bengo, Luanda, Kwanza Norte, Kwanza Sul, Benguela, Huambo, Bie, Moxico, Kuando-Kubango, Huila, Namibe abd Cunene
Religion: Most of the Population is Christian
Time: One hour ahead of GMT
Currency: Kwanza (Exchange Rate 1 US$ = 75.023 Kz) (2008 est.)