Basic Facts about the Government & Parliament

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintEmail

Head of State and President Jose Eduardo dos Santos Government: President Jose Eduardo dos Santos
Government Type: Multi-Party Democracy with a Semi-Executive Presidency
Prime Minister: Fernando Da Piedade Dias dos Santos "Nando"
Cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the President
National Legislature: National Assembly with 220 seats (unicameral Assembleia Nacional, members elected by proportional vote to serve four-year term)
Next Elections: 2013
Party of Government: MPLA (The Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola)
Main Opposition Party: UNITA (National Union for the Total Independence of Angola)